What Is The Difference Between Mammals And Non-mammals?


11 Answers

Nicole Manion Profile
Nicole Manion answered
Mammals are members of a class of air-breathing vertebrate animals characterized by the possession of hair, three middle ear bones, and mammary glands functional in mothers with young. Most mammals also possess sweat glands and specialized teeth, and the largest group of mammals, the placentals, have a placenta which feeds the offspring during gestation. The mammalian brain, with its characteristic neocortex, regulates endothermic and circulatory systems, including a four-chambered heart. Mammals range in size from the 30-40 millimetre (1- to 1.5-inch) Bumblebee Bat to the 33-metre (108-foot) Blue Whale.

Except for the five species of monotremes which lay eggs, all living mammal species give birth to live young. Most mammals, including the six most species-rich orders, belong to the placental group. The three largest orders, in descending order, are Rodentia, mice, rats, porcupines, beavers, capybaras, and other gnawing mammals, Chiroptera, bats, and Soricomorpha, shrews, moles and solenodons. The next three largest orders include the Primates, to which the human species belongs, the Cetartiodactyla including the even-toed hoofed mammals and the whales and the Carnivora dogs, cats, weasels, bears, seals, and their relatives.

Non-mammals, also known as oviparous animals, are animals that lay eggs, with little or no other embryonic development within the mother. This is the reproductive method of most fish, amphibians, reptiles, all birds, the monotremes, and most insects and arachnids.

Land-dwelling animals that lay eggs, often protected by a shell, such as reptiles and insects, do so after having completed the process of internal fertilization. Water-dwelling animals, such as fish and amphibians, lay their eggs before fertilization, and the male lays its sperm on top of the newly laid eggs in a process called external fertilization.

Almost all non-oviparous fish, amphibians and reptiles are ovoviviparous, i.e. The eggs are hatched inside the mother's body or, in case of the sea horse inside the father's. The true opposite of oviparity is placental viviparity, employed by almost all mammals the exceptions being marsupials and monotremes.

There are only five known species of oviparous mammals: Four species of Echidna and the Platypus.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Mammals:they have hair, they give birth to babies,warm blooded,have sweat glands.
Examples:bear,whales,human beings,etc.
Non-mammals:they don't have hair or fur,lay eggs,cold blooded.
Woo Qoo Profile
Woo Qoo answered
Mammal - mammary glands - modified sweat-glands with which to secrete milk to suckle their young - knockers - a fulsome pair of funbags.

Mammals usually don't lay eggs; but the ones that do are called monotremes(platypuses, echidnas...).

Mammals usually have a placenta; the ones that don't are either marsupials or the afforementioned monotremes. Marsupials give birth to a jellybean-sized foetus after an extremely short gestation period, which crawls across the mother's fur into a pouch on its front, where it latches on to a teat for sustenance and does not re-emerge for months. No non-mammals have a placenta.

Most mammals have hair; but some don't(e.g. Porpoises). No non-mammal has hair.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Mammals are warm blooded, feed their babies with their own milk, give birth to live young, have fur of hair, have sweat glands and have three middle ear bones
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Mammals Have Hair Or Fur, Non-Mammals Don't.
helen baillie-gutteridge Profile
Mammals are those vertebrates which have milk-secreting glands (derived from modified gkands in the skin) with which to nourish their young and examples would marsupials, cats, mice, antelope, horses. Non-mammals do not have such glands and examples would be birds, fish, reptiles.

Answer Question