What Are The Body Parts Of A Frog?


2 Answers

Fred Hamill Profile
Fred Hamill answered

There are many parts to the body of a frog.

  • Mouth:

  • Vomarine and Maxillary Teeth: Used for holding preyInternal

  • Nares (nostrils): Breathing
  • Eustachian Tubes: Equalize pressure in inner ear
  • Glottis : Tube leading to the lungs
  • Esophagus: Tube leading to the stomach
  • Tongue: Front attached, aids in grabbing prey
  • Tympanic Membrane: Eardrum, located behind eyes
  • Nictitating Membrane: Clear eyelid, protects the eye

  • Stomach:

  • Peritoneum: Spiderweb like membrane that covers organs

  • Stomach: First site of chemical digestion, breaks down food
  • Liver: Makes bile (aids in digestion)
  • Gall bladder: Stores bile
  • Esophagus: Tube that leads to the stomach
  • Pancreas: Makes insulin (aids in digestion)
  • Small Intestine (duodenum and ileum): Absorb nutrients from food
  • Mesentery: Holds coils of the small intestine together
  • Large Intestine: Collects waste, absorbs water
  • Cloaca: "Sewer": Eggs, sperm, urine and feces enter this area
  • Spleen: Part of circulatory system, stores blood

  • Urogenital System:

  • Kidneys: Filter blood

  • Ureters: Carry urine from kidneys to bladder
  • Testes: Make sperm
  • Oviducts: Eggs travel through these
  • Ovary: Makes egg (usually not visible on frog)
  • Urinary Bladder: Stores urine
  • Cloaca: Where sperm, eggs, urine, and feces exit.

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Members of the class Amphibia, frogs may live some of their adult lives on land, but they must return to water to reproduce. Eggs are laid and fertilized in water. On the outside of the frog’s head are two external nares, or nostrils; two tympani, or eardrums; and two eyes, each of which has three lids. The third lid, called the nictitating membrane, is transparent. Inside the mouth are two internal nares, or openings into the nostrils; two vomerine teeth in the middle of the roof of the mouth; and two maxillary teeth at the sides of the mouth. Also inside the mouth behind the tongue is the pharynx, or throat.
In the pharynx, there are several openings: One into the esophagus, the tube into which food is swallowed; one into the glottis, through which air enters the larynx, or voice box; and two into the Eustachian tubes, which connect the pharynx to the ear. The digestive system consists of the organs of the digestive tract, or food tube, and the digestive glands. From the esophagus, swallowed food moves into the stomach and then into the small intestine. Bile is a digestive juice made by the liver and stored in the gallbladder. Bile flows into a tube called the common bile duct, into which pancreatic juice, a digestive juice from the pancreas, also flows. The contents of the common bile duct flow into the small intestine, where most of the digestion and absorption of food into the bloodstream takes place.
Indigestible materials pass through the large intestine and then into the cloaca, the common exit chamber of the digestive, excretory, and reproductive systems. The respiratory system consists of the nostrils and the larynx, which opens into two lungs, hollow sacs with thin walls. The walls of the lungs are filled with capillaries, which are microscopic blood vessels through which materials pass into and out of the blood. The circulatory system consists of the heart, blood vessels, and blood. The heart has two receiving chambers, or atria, and one sending chamber, or ventricle. Blood is carried to the heart in vessels called veins. Veins from different parts of the body enter the right and left atria. Blood from both atria goes into the ventricle and then is pumped into the arteries, which are blood vessels that carry blood away from the heart.

Answer Question